Open to the public. Admission is free. Main entrance: DLSU Gate 2 (leading directly to Henry Sy Hall). Visitors, please get a PEN Congress Pass from DLSU security upon entry. Please bring your ID as identification evidence.

Theme: Change: Perils and Possibilities

Overall Convenors: Bienvenido Lumbera, Charlson Ong, Lito B. Zulueta


21 November 2016, Monday

8:00-9:00 AM Registration

9:00-9:15 AM Opening Ceremonies
Invocation / In Memoriam: Maria Leonida Fres Felix
National Anthem
Reading of the PEN Charter: Glenn Sevilla Mas
Welcome Remarks: Raymond Girard Tan, DLSU Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
Inspirational Remarks: Bienvenido Lumbera, National Artist & Chairman, Philippine PEN

9:15 AM- 10:15 AM Keynote Address
Introduction of the Speaker: Joel Pablo Salud
Keynote Address: Nelson Navarro

10:15-10:30 AM Coffee Break

10:30 AM – 12:00 NN First Literary Session
Literature, Linguistic Diversity and Federal Frontiers
H. Francisco Peñones, Jr. (Chair), Sukarno Tanggol, Jonathan Malaya,
Christine Godinez Ortega, Santiago Villafania

12:00 NN-1:30 PM Lunch
Hosted by De La Salle University Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation

1:30-3:00 PM Second Literary Session
Whatever Happened to Protest?
Charlson Ong (Chair), Lourd de Veyra, Mixkaela Villalon, Alvin Yapan

3:00-3:15 PM Coffee Break

3:15-5:00 PM Third Literary Session
The Way We Write: Panel on New Writing
Karina Bolasco (Chair), Nikki Alfar, Angelo “Sarge” Lacuesta, Zeno Denolo, Patrick Campos

5:30– 8:00 PM Solidarity Dinner @ Roofdeck, Henry Sy Sr. Hall
(for PEN members, conference speakers, and guests-of-honor only)
Hosted by the University of Santo Tomas The Varsitarian

22 November 2016, Tuesday

8:30-9:30 AM Registration

9:30-11:30 AM Fourth Literary Session
Spin, Trolls, and Comms
Sarge Lacuesta (Chair), Yol Jamendang, Lisandro Claudio, Inday Espina Varona

11:30 AM – 1:00 PM Lunch
Hosted by the Philippine Soong Ching Ling Foundation

1:00- 1:15 PM Reading of the PEN Resolutions
Presiding Officer: Lito B. Zulueta, National Secretary, Philippine PEN

1:15-3:00 PM Launching of New Titles / Authors’ Talk
Moderator: Maria Leonida Fres Felix

Ma. Ailil Alvarez: Slivers of the Sky: Catholic Literary Readings and Other Essays (UST Publishing)
Genaro Gojo Cruz: Yehey, May Pamilya na ring Mag-aaruga sa Akin! (Bookmark)
José Ma. Fons Guardiola: Los variados avatares de Chejov (XXXIV Premio Felipe Trigo de Narración Corta, Diputación de Badajoz)
Marne Kilates: Heartland, Translation of Rio Alma’s Muli Sa Kandugan ng Lupa (Ateneo de Naga U Press)
Clarissa V. Militante: We Who Cannot Be Daughters (UST Publishing)
John Iremil Teodoro: Hasang, mga kuwento ng pag-ibig (UP Press)
Mookie Katigbak-Lacuesta, Carlomar Arcangel Daoana, and Allan Justo Pastrana: Be Ye Steadfast. Poems (Vagabond Press)
Kristian Sendon Cordero, Tito Valiente and Atty. Celestina M. Tam, editors: Gualberto Cea Manlagñit: Mga Piling Obra (Ateneo de Naga U Press)

3:00-4:00 PM The José Rizal Lecture
The José Rizal Lecture: Justice Antonio T. Carpio, Senior Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the Philippines

4:00-5:00 PM Cocktails
Hosted by RCBC, SM, and the University of the Philippines

With deep gratitude to our Patrons / Partners

Clifford Chance Foundation
De La Salle University
Galerie Joaquin
Ms. Doris Magsaysay-Ho
PEN International
Philippine Soong Ching Ling Foundation
Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation (RCBC)
SM, Inc.
Solidaridad Bookshop
Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
University of the Philippines
University of Santo Tomas The Varsitarian
Documentation assistance by Cultura, DLSU student organization
Participating Publishers in Book Exhibit and Sale
Anvil Publishing
Ateneo de Manila University Press
Bookmark, Inc.
De La Salle University Publishing House
New Day Publishing
Solidaridad Bookshop
University of the Philippines Press
University of Santo Tomas Publishing House

For inquiries, please email or call Solidaridad Bookshop at tel. # 2541086.